topbanner ad

Tuesday 4 October 2022

American Motorcyclist Association (AMA)

USA Team Claims MXdN Win

The American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) has congratulated Team USA riders Eli Tomac, Chase Sexton and Justin Cooper and team manager Roger DeCoster.
"America is once again the motocross capital of the world," said American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) President and CEO Rob Dingman. "Team USA reclaimed the Chamberlain Trophy when riders Eli Tomac, Chase Sexton and Justin Cooper, led by team manager Roger DeCoster, triumphed at the Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme's Motocross of Nations at Red Bud Track 'N' Trail in Buchanan, Michigan, on September 25.
"This Motocross of Nations was a perfect demonstration of the success that comes from having the right people - motivated and talented people - in the right positions, from our team coordinators to the riders themselves and our team manager."
The Motocross of Nations teams are selected by the national federations affiliated with the FIM in each participating country - in the case of the USA that is the AMA. Tomac, Sexton and Cooper defeated teams from 31 countries and two FIM Continental Unions on the way to their historic win.

The FIM Motocross of Nations features teams of riders in three classifications: MXGP, MX2 and Open. Racing takes place in three motos. One includes MXGP and MX2 riders; one includes MX2 and Open riders; and one includes MXGP and Open riders. Each team's rider is scored based on where they finished in the combined motos. Those scores are tallied to determine the winning team.
Tomac finished 1-6 in the MXGP class, Sexton finished 2-3 in the Open class, and Cooper finished 9-4 in the MX2 class. Cooper's result, the best in the MX2 class, earned him the individual championship in that event.
Dingman added: "It's an honor to have the support of so many stakeholders at this event. All year these teams and companies compete against one another on the track and through their support of individual riders. Here, we are one team, Team USA, and I'm proud to say, today we are definitively the best motocross team in the world."
This was the 23rd time that USA has won the MXdN and the first time for 11 years since it was held at Saint Jean d'Angely in France in 2011.
Joining the winners on the podium was Team France with Maxime Renaux, Marvin Musquin and Dylan Ferrandis, who finished with 23 points, seven behind Team USA, while rounding out the podium was Team Australia's Mitch Evans, Hunter Lawrence and Jett Lawrence with 26 points.