topbanner ad

Wednesday 30 June 2021

Bagger Racing League

Hoban Brothers Take Bagger Racing League Win at Salt Lake City
June 27 at Utah Motorsports Campus in Erda, Utah

In what turned out to be an excellent weekend for Harley (and for Wisconsin!), Hoban Brothers Racing, the manufacturer of the popular Darkhorse Crankworks line, and ultra-lightweight component specialist DTF Performance rider Michael Barnes rode a race-prepared H-D Road Glide Special to victory in the inaugural Drag Specialties sponsored Bagger Racing League (BRL) road race event. 

Competing in the primary Premier Bagger GP class main event, Barnes beat S&S/Indian Motorcycle's rider Tyler O'Hara to the finish line by 0.356 seconds. Cory West was third on the Saddlemen Racing/Slyfox Performance Harley-Davidson Road Glide Special.
In BRL support classes, Benny Carlson won both the Hooligan GP (Suburban Motors Harley-Davidson XR1200) and Pro Stock GP (Suicide Machine Company Harley-Davidson Road Glide) races.

"This win is a confidence booster for me and the team," said Barnes. "We didn't think we were that far off at the MotoAmerica King Of The Baggers race at Road America. For this race we had a different front end, different shocks, different geometry.
"We made some smart decisions, and they have all made the bike better. That's a testament to the knowledge of this team. Setting up a Road Glide for road racing has been a steep learning curve, not just for me riding it, but everyone involved. We've made leaps and bounds at every test and every event, so after disappointing results earlier this season, it's a great reward to get this win."

Barnes was the top qualifier for the BRL event, took the holeshot, and led O'Hara for the entire 8-lap race distance.
The Bagger Racing League is a new racing organization promoting road-racing competition for American V-twin-powered motorcycles. Racing takes place in four classes over a three-day weekend that also includes entertainment - including stunt shows, a Ness Enterprises organized Custom Bike Show and a Vendor Village.

Drag Specialties BRL - Premier Bagger GP Results:
1. Michael Barnes (Hoban Brothers Racing/DTF Performance, Harley-Davidson)
2. Tyler O'Hara (S&S, Indian)
3. Cory West (Saddlemen Racing/Slyfox, Harley-Davidson)
4. Ben Bostrom (Feuling Parts, Harley-Davidson)
5. Jake Johnson (Alloy Art, Harley-Davidson)
6. Shane Narbonne (Trask Performance, Harley-Davidson)
7. Patricia Fernandez (Saddlemen Racing, Indian)
8. Anthony Sollima (Speed Merchant, Harley-Davidson)
9. Zack Nation (Zack Nation Racing, Harley-Davidson)