topbanner ad

Wednesday 25 September 2019

AFT Twins presented by Vance & Hines

Briar Bauman Crowned 2019 AFT Twins Champion

Briar Bauman (No. 14 Indian Motorcycle/Progressive Insurance FTR750) has secured the 2019 AFT Twins presented by Vance & Hines Championship with one race to go after finishing third in the Indian Motorcycle Minnesota Mile at Canterbury Park, Shakopee, Minnesota on Saturday, September 21st.

Photo: Scott Hunter/American Flat Track

Multi-time reigning champion Jared Mees (No. 1 Indian Motorcycle/Progressive Insurance FTR750) took the win, with Bryan Smith (No. 4 Crosley Brands/Howerton Motorsports Kawasaki Ninja 650) second, but a 15th podium, any podium, in his 17th race of the season was all the younger of the Bauman brothers needed to secure his first AFT Twins Crown.
Jeffrey Carver Jr. (No. 23 Roof Systems of Dallas/Indian of Metro Milwaukee FTR750) brought it home in fourth, with Henry Wiles (No. 17 Bandit Industries/DPC Racing/Wilco Racing Indian FTR750) fifth. Going into the final race of the 2019 season (the Meadowlands Mile, East Rutherford, NJ) on Saturday, September 28, Mees is second in the standings, ahead of fellow Indian Wrecking Crew rider Bronson Bauman third, Jeffrey Carver Jr. fourth and Brandon Robinson (No. 44 Kennedy Racing/Armbruster Racing Indian FTR750) fifth to give the FTR750 a potential championship top five riders.

Following 15 thrilling laps of Roof Systems AFT Singles presented by Russ Brown Motorcycle Attorneys action, Mikey Rush (No. 15 RMR Honda/Red Riders Rewards Honda CRF450R) edged Ryan Wells (No. 94 Estenson Racing Yamaha YZ450F) by an impossibly close 0.004 seconds for a third victory of the season, with rookie standout Dallas Daniels (No. 163 Estenson Racing Yamaha YZ450F) and championship leader Dalton Gauthier (No. 122 D&D Cycles/Gobert Smash Husqvarna FC450) moving a step closer to winning the Singles title by finishing fourth.
In the Production Twins, Kolby Carlile (No. 136 Estenson Racing Yamaha MT-07) made certain the AFT Production Twins championship fight would go down to the season finale with his second class victory of the season.
Chad Cose (No. 49 Parkinson Bros Racing Kawasaki Ninja 650) took second, with Cody Johncox (No. 196 Sunnyside Cycles/Luczak Racing Yamaha MT-07) picking up his second podium of the season ahead of Cory Texter (No. 65 G&G Racing/Holeshot Powersports Yamaha MT-07) fourth and Dalton Gauthier (Black Hills Harley-Davidson, Pro-Beam by Custom Dynamics, Harley-Davidson XG750R Rev X) fifth.