topbanner ad

Tuesday 23 April 2024

Sturgis Motorcycle Museum

Sturgis Motorcycle Museum - 2024 Hall of Fame Inductees

The Sturgis Motorcycle Museum and Hall of Fame has announced its 'Class of 2024' - a distinguished lineup of individuals with a diverse range of accomplishments. 

Honorees this year have supported veterans and the elderly, advocated for motorcyclists' rights, and have shown artistic talent on canvas as well as on two wheels.

"The Hall of Fame Class of 2024 is notable for its deep roots in the culture of motorcycling," said Museum Board President Craig Bailey. "Each one of the honorees has uniquely touched our sport and the riding community. We couldn't be happier to recognize these truly special individuals."

The induction breakfast ceremony will be held on Wednesday, August 7, 2024, at The Lodge at Deadwood.

James Gregory

An honored Vietnam Veteran who served in the Marines for over 20 years before creating and leading the first 'Run For The Wall' in 1989. This annual cross-country run and its arrival in Washington DC on Memorial Day Weekend is America's most visible support for POWs and those Missing in Action.

Roger Goldammer

Roger gained fame as the three-time winner of both the AMD World Championship of Custom Bike Building and the Las Vegas Artistry in Iron Show. A post-high school apprenticeship, time studying at the Motorcycle Mechanics Institute and tutoring by a Harley performance guru helped him hone his craft. A fellow bike builder introduced him to land speed racing, which influenced his bike building style and has driven his passion for performance at the salt flats.

Ed Kerr

Ed discovered early in life that he had a passion for motorcycling and a talent for building award-winning custom motorcycles. Many of his two-wheeled creations won shows and were featured on the covers of popular motorcycle magazines. Ed is a founding member of Hamsters USA and is proud of the organization's numerous charity events, including his efforts to raise nearly $100,000 for Meals on Wheels.

Christine LePera and Bob LePera Jr. 

This sibling duo carries on the legacy of success at motorcycle accessory manufacturer LePera Industries, which was started by their father in 1972. Bob Jr., the design visionary, and Christine, the marketing and business development guru, keep their company at the top of the industry and both are proud of their company's support for all types of riders. 

David Uhl

David started his career as a commercial illustrator, producing hundreds of best-selling apparel designs for a Harley-Davidson licensee. In 1998, he began creating fine art based on historic motorcycle imagery and became the first licensed oil painter for Harley-Davidson. His portfolio includes several iconic paintings, including a commissioned work presented to Pope Francis at Harley-Davidson's 110th Anniversary celebration in Rome.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Will be presented to Pete Hill. Hill, who owns a shop in South Carolina, has mastered the creation of race-winning performance motorcycle engines and serves customers from around the globe. He is also an accomplished motorcycle drag racer earning numerous wins and championships, including nine Top Fuel wins in Sturgis.

Freedom Fighter Award

Jiggs Cressy for his tireless leadership of ABATE of South Dakota, where he served as State Coordinator for 14 years. Cressy has advocated for South Dakota's riders in the State Capital countless times and has made eight trips to do the same in Washington as well. Cressy has also received the John "Farmer" Eggers Award, the most prized honor from the Motorcycle Riders Foundation, in 2018.

Kickstands Down Award

James Sherwin "Bud" Ekins. A posthumous award presented to an individual worthy of additional recognition, Bud was widely regarded as one of the film industry's most accomplished stuntmen - famous for his work in films like "The Great Escape" and "Bullitt." Before venturing into the film industry, Ekins had success in off-road racing, participating in notable events including the International Six Day Trial, the Mint 400 and the Baja 500.