topbanner ad

Wednesday, 21 March 2018

J&P Cycles Ultimate Builder Custom Bike Show

Veterans pull off $20k Ultimate Builder win

The 2017/2018 J&P Cycles Ultimate Builder Custom Bike Show competition series came to a crescendo at the penultimate Progressive International Motorcycle Show (IMS) on February 9 - 11 at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center, Chicago, Illinois.

Freestyle winner and 2018 ‘King of the Builders’, Motorcycle Missions Veterans
Freestyle runner up: Chris Moose

Described by owner UBM (United Business Media) as “the world’s largest elite-level custom motorcycle building competition,” this year’s competition is said to have featured over 350 custom motorcycles and $100,000 in cash and prizes across every stop on the IMS tour, with $70,000 of that awarded at the Chicago championship round.
Jeff Najar, manager, J&P Cycles Ultimate Builder Custom Bike Show, said: “We had an amazing championship round in Chicago this year that featured many breathtaking custom motorcycles. We were very excited to be able to crown Motorcycle Missions Veterans as the official 2018 ‘King of the Builders.’

Modified Harley winner: Jesse Srpan of Raw Iron Choppers

Modified Harley runner up: Tyler Foster of Sikpipes

“Founded by Krystal Hess, Texas based Motorcycle Missions is a non-profit corporation helping veterans and first responders who deal with PTSD and suicidal ideation find hope and healing through motorcycles. Eight veterans of Motorcycle Missions built the winning motorcycle as part of Motorcycle Missions’ build mentorship program.”

Modified Retro winner: Darrel Johnson
Modified Retro runner up: Andrew Fredrick

The winners were selected by a panel of expert judges including Chris Callen, editor, Cycle Source Magazine; Chris Theis, custom builder and stuntman; Evan Favaro, custom builder; George Stinsman, Chaos Cycle (top 15 at the 2016 AMD World Championship); Max Ness of Arlen Ness Motorcycles; and Nick Beaulieu, custom builder and 2017 champion. Judging was based upon creativity, craftsmanship and building ability.

Custom Street winner: Dale Crawford
Custom Street runner up: PJ Grakauskas